Three new world title winners emerge in thrilling World Aquatics Championships finals

Angelina Kohler of Germany

13th February 2024 – (Doha) On Monday night, the finals of the World Aquatics Championships delivered exhilarating performances, resulting in the crowning of three new world title winners.

In a remarkable feat, Angelina Kohler of Germany, participating in her fourth appearance at the championships, claimed her maiden title in the women’s 100m butterfly event. The 23-year-old showcased exceptional form, clocking in at an impressive 56.28 seconds. Overwhelmed with joy, Kohler shed tears during the emotional award ceremony. Her outstanding performance in Doha was further highlighted by her personal best of 56.11 seconds in the semifinals, surpassing the gold-winning time set by Zhang Yufei of China at Fukuoka 2023. Claire Curzan from the United States secured the silver medal, trailing by 0.33 seconds, while Louise Hansson of Sweden clinched the bronze with a time of 56.94 seconds.

In the men’s 100m breaststroke event, Nic Fink of the United States celebrated his inaugural victory. The 30-year-old completed the race in 58.57 seconds, displaying exceptional skill and determination. Italy’s Nicolo Martinenghi earned the silver medal, while Britain’s Olympic gold medalist Adam Peaty took the bronze, adding to his impressive collection of accolades.

Portugal’s Diogo Matos Ribeiro, a mere 19 years old, made a stunning breakthrough by claiming gold in the men’s 50m butterfly. Ribeiro touched the wall at a remarkable time of 22.97 seconds, showcasing his extraordinary talent. Michael Andrew from the United States secured the silver medal, followed closely by Australia’s Cameron McEvoy, who took home the bronze.

In the fiercely competitive women’s 200m medley, American swimmer Kate Douglass once again displayed her dominance by successfully defending her title from Fukuoka 2023. Douglass finished the race in a time of 2 minutes and 7.05 seconds, leaving Canada’s Sydney Pickrem trailing by 1.51 seconds to secure the silver medal. Yu Yiting of China secured the bronze medal, finishing with a time of 2:9.01.