Non-residents from Mexico banned from entering Hong Kong from 7th Dec


4th December 2021 – (Hong Kong) The Government announced today that in view of the latest global developments of the COVID-19 pandemic situation, Mexico will be specified as a Group A specified place from 0.00am on 7th December  to tighten the boarding and quarantine requirements for relevant inbound travellers.

The Government announced earlier that as a preventive measure, the Government would specify places which have detected Omicron cases as Group A specified places. Noting that the detection of Omicron cases was confirmed in Mexico, the Government will specify it as a Group A specified place from 0.00am on 7th December. Non-Hong Kong residents who have stayed there within 21 days will not be allowed to enter Hong Kong. Hong Kong residents can only board a flight for Hong Kong if they have been fully vaccinated and hold a recognised vaccination record. They will have to undergo compulsory quarantine in a designated quarantine hotel for 21 days upon return to Hong Kong, with six tests to be conducted during quarantine, followed by compulsory testing in a community testing centre on the 26th day of arrival at Hong Kong.