Non-residents from Iceland and Singapore not allowed to enter HK in view of Omicron cases


3rd December 2021 – (Hong Kong)   The Government announced today (December 3) that in view of the latest global developments of the COVID-19 pandemic situation, Iceland and Singapore will be specified as Group A specified places from 0.00am on 6th December to tighten the boarding and quarantine requirements for relevant inbound travellers.

 The Government announced earlier that as a preventive measure, the Government would specify places which have detected Omicron cases as Group A specified places. Noting that the detection of Omicron cases was confirmed in Iceland and Singapore, the Government will specify these places as Group A specified places from 0.00am on 6th December. Non-Hong Kong residents who have stayed there within 21 days are not allowed to enter Hong Kong. Hong Kong residents can only board a flight for Hong Kong if they have been fully vaccinated and hold a recognised vaccination record. They have to undergo compulsory quarantine in a designated quarantine hotel for 21 days upon return to Hong Kong, with six tests to be conducted during quarantine, followed by compulsory testing in a community testing centre on the 26th day of arrival at Hong Kong.

  Details on the relevant boarding and compulsory quarantine requirements for respective specified places can be found at

     The Government will gazette the relevant updated specifications under the Prevention and Control of Disease (Regulation of Cross-boundary Conveyances and Travellers) Regulation (Cap. 599H) to effect the above measures.