Joshua Wong, Agnes Chow and Nathan Law, founders of Demosistō Party announce their formal withdrawal after passing of National Security Law


30th June 2020 – (Hong Kong) After the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress passed the Hong Kong version of the National Security Law, Joshua Wong, Agnes Chow and Nathan Law announced that they would step down from Demosistō Party today.

Demosistō is a pro-democracy political organisation established on 10 April 2016 as a political party. It is led by the former leaders of ScholarismJoshua Wong and Agnes Chow, along with former secretary-general of the Hong Kong Federation of Students (HKFS) Nathan Law. Scholarism and the HKFS were the two student activist groups which played an instrumental role in the 79-day occupy protests known as the Umbrella Revolution in 2014.

On 26th June, Anson Chan, a pro-democracy politician and civil servant who served as Chief Secretary in both the Hong Kong Government under the British sovereignty and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region government under the Chinese sovereignty announced that she would step down from all civil and political engagement following the recent death of her daughter. In response, official Chinese media published an article to rebuke her latest announcement and expressed that her ‘retreat’ from political engagement will not absolve her of criminal liability implying that the “National Security Law” will be passed in Hong Kong soon and she will face punishment.

Meanwhile, Jimmy Lai posted on his Tweeter account 10 minutes ago that businessmen who support the National Security Law should be worried that they would be sanctioned by US.