France extends flight ban on 7 southern African countries over Omicron concerns


Xinhua News

1st December 2021 – (Paris) France has decided to extend its flight ban on seven southern African countries until Saturday over Omicron concerns, French Secretary of State for European Affairs Clement Beaune said on Wednesday.

Speaking to RTL radio, Beaune said that France and several other European countries have taken a coordinated measure to suspend flights or restrain entries from South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, and Eswatini.

He also mentioned that “an extremely strengthened protocol” will be announced by Saturday for European Union citizens to return.

French Health Minister Olivier Veran warned on Tuesday that the epidemical situation in France was worsening, with some 47,000 new cases reported in the past 24 hours.

France detected its first Omicron variant case Tuesday in La Reunion, the country’s overseas territory to the east of the African continent, while awaiting the confirmation of eight suspected Omicron cases who tested positive after their African trips.