EAC Chairman conducts inspection of polling stations for the 2023 District Council Ordinary Election

The Chairman of the Electoral Affairs Commission, Mr Justice David Lok (centre), and the Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs, Mr Erick Tsang Kwok-wai (first right), accompanied the Chief Executive, Mr John Lee (second right), to inspect the District Council geographical constituency polling station of the 2023 District Council Ordinary Election at Lingnan Secondary School this morning. Also present was the Director of the Chief Executive's Office, Ms Carol Yip (first left).

9th December 2023 – (Hong Kong) Tomorrow, the highly anticipated 2023 District Council Ordinary Election (DCOE) will be held across Hong Kong. In preparation for this significant event, Mr Justice David Lok, the Chairman of the Electoral Affairs Commission (EAC), accompanied by Mr Erick Tsang Kwok-wai, the Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs, joined Chief Executive Mr John Lee in visiting the District Council geographical constituency polling station at Ningnan Secondary School. The purpose of the visit was to inspect the set-up and conduct an on-site rehearsal, ensuring a seamless and efficient electoral process.

Expressing his confidence in the arrangements, Mr Justice Lok stated, “Preparations for the elections are now complete, and our dedicated electoral staff are in the final stages of preparation and rehearsal. They will spare no efforts in carrying out their duties to ensure a smooth and accurate conduct of the poll and count tomorrow.”

To accommodate the vast number of electors, more than 600 District Council geographical constituency (DCGC) polling stations will be established, serving approximately 4.33 million eligible voters. Additionally, a total of 18 District Committees constituency (DCC) polling stations will be set up across the territory, catering to around 2,500 DCC electors who will cast their DCC votes.

In order to oversee the electoral preparations firsthand, EAC members Professor Daniel Shek and Mr Bernard Man, SC, also visited various polling stations today. Their presence aimed to ensure that all necessary arrangements were in place, guaranteeing a smooth and efficient polling and counting process tomorrow.

Mr Justice Lok took the opportunity to remind DCC electors to cast their DCC and DCGC votes respectively at the designated polling stations. The polling hours for DCGCs will be from 8.30am to 10.30pm, providing a total of 14 hours for voting. On the other hand, DCCs will have a shorter polling period, from 8.30am to 2.30pm, allowing for six hours of voting.

All eligible electors should have received their poll cards by now. In the event that they have not received their poll card, they can log in to the Online Voter Information Enquiry System (vr.gov.hk) to check their elector status and the allocated polling station. Alternatively, they can contact the Registration and Electoral Office (REO) hotline at 2891 1001 for any inquiries. It is important to note that electors must bring the original copy of their Hong Kong identity card to vote at the designated polling station tomorrow. Furthermore, electors can only vote at the polling station allocated to them, which may differ from previous elections. Therefore, it is crucial for electors to carefully read the name and address of the polling station specified on their poll card.

Continuing their inspection, Mr Justice Lok and Mr Tsang, accompanied by EAC members Professor Daniel Shek and Mr Bernard Man, SC, visited the near boundary polling stations (NBPSs) set up at Hong Kong Taoist Association Tang Hin Memorial Secondary School and Tung Wah Group of Hospitals Kap Yan Directors’ College. Mr Justice Lok explained, “To facilitate electors residing on the Mainland or those who need to travel to and from the Mainland on the polling day, the REO has established four NBPSs at two secondary schools near Sheung Shui MTR Station.”

Electors who have successfully registered to vote at the NBPSs should have received a notification of registration result sent by the REO via SMS and/or email. These electors can disregard the polling station information on their poll card. To assist them, the REO will arrange shuttle buses to transport electors to and from Sheung Shui MTR Station and the NBPSs on the polling day.

Expressing his gratitude, Mr Justice Lok extended his thanks to the colleagues of the REO and other relevant bureaux/departments for their dedication and hard work. He also urged all registered electors to fulfil their civic responsibility by casting their votes tomorrow.

To provide comprehensive information on polling procedures, the REO has produced a set of TV and radio Announcements in the Public Interest, which have been uploaded to the election website (www.elections.gov.hk) for electors’ reference. For any further inquiries, members of the public can contact the REO hotline at 2891 1001 or visit the election website for detailed information regarding this election.