Chinese govt announces new sanction list against “Taiwan independence activists” and other related persons

From left to right: Hsiao Bi-khim, Tsai Chi-Chang and Wellington Koo.

16th August 2022 – (Hong Kong) The spokesperson of the Taiwan Affairs Office of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China announced on Tuesday (16th) that the Chinese government would impose sanctions on a group of “Taiwan independence activists” or diehard separatists. Other related persons are also included in the list.

The spokesperson announced that representative of the Republic of China to the United States, Hsiao Bi-khim, Secretary-General of the National Security Council in Taiwan, Wellington Koo, Deputy Speaker of Legislative Yuan, Tsai Chi-Chang, member of the Democratic Progressive Party, Ker Chien-ming, Secretary-General of Democratic Progressive Party, Lin Fei-fan, leader of the New Power Party, Chen Jiau-hua, member of the Legislative Yuan, Wang Ting-yu etc will be included in the new sanction list of diehard separatists. Punitive measures will be imposed against them in addition to the sanctions announced earlier against premier of the Republic of China, Su Tseng-chang, member and the president of the Legislative Yuan, You Si-kun and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of China, Joseph Wu.

The measures taken include prohibiting the listed persons and family members from entering the mainland, Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions. Their affiliated institutions are restricted from forging cooperation with relevant organisations and individuals on the mainland. The enterprises related to them, as well as their sponsors, are prohibited from engaging in profit-making activities on the mainland. Other punitive measures will also be taken. They will be held to lifelong accountability according to law, said the spokesperson.

Sanctions are also imposed on the president of the “Taiwan Foundation for Democracy,” and the secretary general of the “International Cooperation and Development Fund.” They are banned from entering the mainland, and the special administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macao, said the spokesperson. You Si-kun is the chairman of the “Taiwan Foundation for Democracy.” Jaushieh Joseph Wu is the chairman of the “International Cooperation and Development Fund.”

According to Xinhua News, actions seeking “Taiwan independence” constitute the biggest obstacle to China’s reunification and a grave danger to the national rejuvenation. For some time, a few diehard separatist elements, out of their own interests, have gone to their lengths to collude with external forces in provocations advocating “Taiwan independence.” They have deliberately instigated confrontations across the Taiwan Strait, and recklessly undermined peace and stability in the region. Their activities became all the more egregious during the visit by Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi to China’s Taiwan region, further exposing their obstinate nature in seeking “Taiwan independence,” the spokesperson said.

The Chinese mainland will never tolerate any kind of activity to split the country, will never allow any external force to interfere in its national reunification, and will leave no room for separatist activities seeking “Taiwan independence” in any form, said the spokesperson.

China’s reunification is a historical trend and the right path, while “Taiwan independence” goes against the tide of history, and it is a path to nowhere, said the spokesperson.

The names of diehard separatists announced today are only a part of the list, said the spokesperson.

“We seriously warn diehard ‘Taiwan independence’ separatists to avoid going down the wrong path further. Anyone who deliberately challenges the law will face severe punishment,” said the spokesperson. “No one should underestimate our resolve, will and ability to defend China’s sovereignty and territorial integrity.”

We expect Taiwan compatriots to become fully aware of a few “Taiwan independence” separatists’ nature of harming Taiwan, and to grasp where their own interests and well-being hinge. We hope compatriots in Taiwan will consciously make a clean break with “Taiwan independence” separatists, resolutely resist and oppose actions advocating “Taiwan independence,” and join hands with compatriots on the mainland in advancing the peaceful development of cross-Strait relations and the process toward national reunification, said the spokesperson.