7 district councillors from Hong Kong Island disqualified after their oaths deemed invalid (Updated: 7.30pm)

Clarisse Yeung Suet-ying

15th September 2021 – (Hong Kong) The Government held the oath-taking ceremony for District Council (DC) members from the Central and Western District Council, the Wan Chai District Council, the Eastern District Council and the Southern District Council at North Point Community Hall on 10th September, 2021 in accordance with the requirements stipulated in the Public Offices (Candidacy and Taking Up Offices) (Miscellaneous Amendments) Ordinance 2021. During the ceremony on that day, the DC members present took oaths individually that they would uphold the Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) of the People’s Republic of China (PRC) and bear allegiance to the HKSAR of the PRC. The oath-taking was administered by the Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Caspar Tsui, who was authorised by the Chief Executive as the oath administrator. 

The oath administrator determined on 10th September that of the 24 DC members who took oaths that day, the oaths taken by 17 were valid. As the oath administrator had questions about the validity of the oaths taken by the other seven DC members, letters were issued to the DC members concerned on 10th September to require them to provide additional information.

After considering the written replies from the DC members concerned and all relevant information, the oath administrator, based on the principles laid down by the Interpretation and the relevant legal provisions, determined that the oaths taken by seven DC members were invalid. Details are set out below:


Invalid oaths

Wan Chai District Council
1. Miss Yeung Suet-ying, Clarisse
2. Mr Leung Pak-kin

Eastern District Council
1. Ms Wei Siu-lik
2. Mr So Yat-hang
3. Mr Chan Wing-tai
4. Ms Lai Tsz-yan

Southern District Council
1. Mr Pang Cheuk-kei, Michael
 Ends/Wednesday, September 15, 2021
Issued at HKT 19:05