12 pan-democrats sentenced to 4-10 months in prison for participating in unauthorised assembly on 4th June 2020

Albert Ho and Yeung Sum

15th September 2021 – (Hong Kong) Next Digital’s Jimmy Lai and other 26 pan-democrat activists (two of them have left Hong Kong) were accused of participating in or inciting others to participate in an unauthorised assembly held in Victoria Park on 4th June 2020.

Four defendants in the case, Joshua Wong, Lester Shum, Tiffany Yuen and Jannelle Rosalynne Leung had earlier pleaded guilty to a crime of knowingly participating in an unauthorised assembly and were sentenced. The other 12 defendants including Albert Ho, Andrew Wan, Figo Chan, Cyd Ho, Yeung Sum, Leung Kwok-hung etc in the same case also admitted to participating or inciting each other last Thursday (9th). After hearing the defences’ plea, the District Court judge adjourned the sentencing to today (15th).

The district judge sentenced the 12 defendants to imprisonment for 4 to 10 months, but 3 of them were granted suspended sentences.

Albert Ho, Figo Chan and Andrew Wan who pleaded guilty to two crimes were all sentenced to 10 months in prison. Among them, the sentences of Ho and Chan can be executed concurrently as their previous case.

Cheung Man-kwong, Kwok Wing-kin, Chiu Yan Loy  and Mak Hoi-wah also pleaded guilty and were sentenced to the 8 months in prison, of which the sentences for Cheung and Mak were suspended for 18 months. As for the other five people who pleaded guilty, in addition to Leung Kwok Wah who was sentenced to 4 months imprisonment suspended for 12 months, Cyd Ho, Leung Kwok-hung, Eddie Chu and Yeung Sum were all sentenced to 6 months in prison.